Skip to main content

Commission on Disability

The Department on Disability and the Commission on Disability work together to respond to the needs and concerns of citizens in the City of Los Angeles.   The Commission advocates for people with disabilities and serves in an advisory capacity to the Department.  The Commission holds public hearings on critical issues, identifies priority issues to be addressed, and makes recommendations to the Mayor and City Council.

The Commission is responsible for:

  • Development of Commission agendas
  • Recommendations for assignment of members to ad hoc committees and task forces
  • Coordination of public hearings and preparation of consequent reports to the Mayor and City Council
  • Preparation of required Commission annual reports
  • Liaison to the other Commissions and community at large on disability issues
  • Coordination of Commission special events and public relations activities, as needed


  • Akiko Tagawa, President
  • Mary Grace A. Barrios, 1st Vice President
  • Jorge E. Acevedo, 2nd Vice President
  • Candace Cable, Secretary
  • Myrna Cabanban, Commissioner
  • Robert Bitonte, Commissioner
  • Iran Hopkins, Commissioner
  • Alisa Schlesinger, Commissioner
  • Robert Williams, Commissioner

Regular Commission Meetings

Regular Commission meetings are held on the 3rd Thursday of the month at 2:00 P.M. in-person at the Board of Public Works Hearing Room 350, City Hall 200 North Spring Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012 and virtually over ZoomPlease contact the Commission Office to confirm meeting date and time (sometimes there are last minute changes).

Contact Commission Office

Phone: (213) 202-2764
TTY: (213) 202-3452